There must have been a moment in your life when you were supposed to send a message to someone and by mistake you sent it to someone else. It can leave you into big trouble if the message you sent had something personal pics or personal messages. What will you do in such a situation? Well, there’s no need to worry as Instagram has the simplest feature to get you out of such troubles. The ‘Unsend Message’ feature is preferred when you want to delete a message from both sides on Instagram. Unlike WhatsApp’s deleting message feature, there is no specific limit of this feature on Instagram. No matter how old a message is, you can delete it from both sides anytime.
However, this message is only applicable for the sender. You can unsend your message in the chat but can’t unsend other person’s message. When you’ll unsend a text, it will disappear from the chat and neither the receiver nor the sender would be able to see it. If you wish to delete a message that the other person sent to you, you will have to delete the whole chat, otherwise there is no other option. However deleting every person’s chat would take a lot of your time, so, you can save it by deleting all the messages at once.
Also, keep in mind, deleting the entire chat will only remove it from your account. The other person would still be able to see all the messages until he/she deletes it from their account too. Let’s talk about how you can delete your message from both sides on Instagram without them knowing.
How To Delete Your Message On Instagram From Both Sides
- Open your Android or iOS device and go to Instagram.
- Enter your username, password if you remember it, otherwise you can see it from the saved passwords and then login to your account.
- You will find yourself in the home tab. Look at the top right corner and a message icon will be visible to you. Click on it.
- It will take you to the DM list/message section of your account. Open the chat which has the message you want to delete.
- Locate the message you wish to unsend and then hold it for about 3 seconds.
- The reaction option will appear above that text but at the bottom you will be able to see three more options like: Reply, Unsend ,and More.
- Finally, select ‘Unsend’ and that message will get removed from the chat permanently. No one will be able to access it now.
How To Delete Other Person’s Message On Instagram
The only way you can delete a message someone sent to you is by deleting the entire conversation on your account. The other person will still be able to access those chats until they delete it from their account too.
All you have to do is:
- Open Instagram and click on the message icon placed at the top right corner right along with a ‘+’ icon.
- When you get to DM section, locate the chat you want to delete.
- In iOS- Simply swipe left on the chat and two options will come- Mute and Delete. Tap on Delete.
- In Android- Press on the chat for about 3 seconds and then, select ‘Delete’ option appearing at the bottom of your screen.
- A pop up will appear asking you to confirm if you want to permanently delete the entire chat. Tap on ‘Delete’ and you are done.
- The entire conversation with that person will be removed from your account.
What happens when you delete Instagram messages from both sides
Whenever you message someone, the other person gets notified about it. But, suppose you sent a wrong message to your friend. They will get a notification as soon as that message gets delivered. So, if you don’t want them to read that message, you will have to delete it immediately and it will be removed from their notification too.
There are chances they might know you sent them a text if they are online at that time and using Instagram. Therefore, you should always unsend it as soon as possible so that the other person doesn’t get the chance to read it.
Even if they get a notification that you sent them a text, it will be impossible for them to find out what it was if you unsend it right away. The message will get removed from the chat and no one will ever know what it was.
Should You Block A Person To Delete Instagram Messages?
Blocking a person will only stop them from texting you. Well, it can be done by disabling your DM list also. But, by blocking, the other person won’t be able to see your profile and even if they text you, you won’t receive that message. It will not delete the message you have sent to them or the ones they have sent to you. They will still have access to your chat but whenever they will click on your profile, they will be shown a ‘User not found’ pop up.
Therefore, you must unsend a message before the blocking. Otherwise, the message will still be shown in their DM list.